In September of 2004, the Flying ‘M’ Athletic Club assembled a committee to develop the criteria and selection process for the new George Tanner Scholarship.  The Scholarship is distributed through the Winnipeg Foundation directly to the educational institution the recipient is attending.  This $400.00 scholarship is awarded annually.

The George Tanner Memorial Scholarship is named after our leader and mentor, George Tanner.  George passed away in May 2017 and the scholarship has been renamed as a memorial scholarship.  George's legacy of the love of track and field will live on through this scholarship.

If you are interested in donating to the George Tanner Memorial Scholarship Fund, please send your donation to The Winnipeg Foundation (1350 - One Lombard Place, Winnipeg, MB  R3B 0X3) with a note on the memo line of your donation referencing the George Tanner Scholarship Fund. You can also make a donation ONLINE at The Winnipeg Foundation

The goal of the Scholarship is to alleviate some of the financial stress of student-athletes who wish to continue their track and field training while attending a post secondary institution. 

Any full-time post secondary student with a minimum GPA of 2.0 competing in Track and Field in Manitoba who is a current member in good standing of Athletics Manitoba can apply.

The 2019 application deadline EXTENDED to November 15, 2019.


Recipients of the George Tanner Scholarship

2018 - Luc Deleau

2017 - Caleb deJong

2016 - Rebekah Eckert

2015 - Courtney Allary

2014 - Eric Guy

2013 - Eric Guy

2012 - Maddison Stewart

2011 - Maddison Stewart

2010 - Karen Ferris

2009 - Karen Ferris

2008 - Travis Waterhouse

Joomla 3.0 Templates - by